Tips for Christmas Card Paper Circuit Program

Hey, guys! I’m new to the idea of paper circuits. I attended the recent Animated Cards with Paper Circuits workshop and had a ton of fun with it, even though that was my very first paper circuit. My programmer saw what I made and asked about it, and when I told her about all the different ideas that came up, she loved the idea of lighting up Christmas cards. So that’s what we’re doing next week!

Since y’all have more experience with paper circuits than I do, I figured I’d come here and ask a few questions.

1. Do you prefer aluminum foil or copper tape? We’ve found that aluminum foil is easier to shape and mold but doesn’t seem to have as good of a connection. On the other hand, I had some trouble with the copper tape and getting it into the shape I wanted it, since I was told to fold and not cut, which was a little trickier. Do you have a preference between the two for your programs?

2. Are there any handouts or informational sheets you find useful to provide to participants? I’ve got the new and improved PLIX circuit zine, which looks amazing and I think will go over really well. But I figured it didn’t hurt to ask if anyone had found any other documents they found particularly useful!

3. Is there any advice you’d give newbie paper circuit-makers that might be handy to know going into the program? This program will be run by two beginners (myself and my programmer, who has never done a paper circuit before but will before the program next week), so any advice is much appreciated so we can (hopefully) help troubleshoot anything that comes up.

Thanks in advance for your help! You all have such fabulous ideas, so I wanted to make sure to ask here before we hosted our first paper circuit program.

4 Likes

Hi! I just did a paper circuit workshop a few days ago and we had a great time! I’m sure you will do a great job facilitating :grin:

To answer your questions: